h1

Weekend in San Diego

February 5, 2010

Last weekend, I took a long, long flight out to San Diego to visit one of my very best friends in the world. We had a lovely time walking on the beach, sea kayaking in freezing water, listening to sea lions barking, eating, drinking beer, looking at animals at the San Diego Zoo, and… oh yeah, getting food poisoning. Here are some of the food highlights (basically what didn’t make me sick), and lowlights (… obvs, the culprit).

Highlights….
Alesmith Brewery (Miramar Road): We went here for a beer tasting where each flavor was $1. It was super fun to try such unique beers, and apparently San Diego is one of the best beer towns in the US. I had no idea. I particularly liked the Speedway Stout.

South Beach Bar and Grill (Ocean Beach): Dinner the first night after the 6-hour flight… oysters, beer, and fish tacos really hit the spot!

Brockton Villa Restaurant (La Jolla Cove): Brunch Sunday morning with my two best friends — not the greatest meal ever (though, to be fair, I ate an egg-white omelette because my stomach was still recovering), but it was a beautiful view of the La Jolla Cove. And we got to see sea lions and seals on our walk from the restaurant.

Lowlight
Tacos el Gordo: I hate calling this a lowlight because the Adobada tacos were DELICIOUS. It’s basically the Mexican version of a pork shawarma.  But I can’t forgive the full 24 hours of getting sick that followed for both my friend and I. Epic fail.

One full day of sitting on a couch, curled in a ball, sick, watching crappy tv aside, check out the fun we had:

Leave a comment