h1

Goodbye Summer

September 4, 2007

corn.jpg

I can’t believe the summer is over, already. This means I have to say goodbye to the amazingly ripe tomatoes and corn that I ate over the weekend. The best thing about summer is that healthy foods actually taste delicious. Many a night I had sliced tomatoes and corn-on-the-cob for dinner (yet still, I do not lose weight… hmmm… see Mango Margaritas). But my favorite comment this weekend was a friend who said, “This corn is so good it’s like biting into a candy bar.” Mmmm…. so yummy. And the lovely Kate taught me this corn cooking tip:

Shuck the corn until there is only one layer of husk left. Leave this layer on, and then drop the corn into a pot of boiling water for 2 minutes. The corn tastes amazing. I don’t know why—but keeping just a layer of the husk on while it cooks keeps all the fresh flavor. Check us out stuffing our faces, below.

cornoncob.jpg

One comment

  1. Oh my God, I’m in a blog!! And for a cooking tip…there’s something fundamentally wrong about that since I can’t cook, but I’ll take my five seconds any way I can get them. Looking awesome my corn-eating buddy!!



Leave a Reply

