Archive for April 8th, 2008

h1

A Tip on Asparagus Tips

April 8, 2008

If you cook at all, you probably know this, but I had to laugh when I saw this little asparagus tip on The Kitchn. I never knew that you were supposed to snap off the bottoms of asparagus until J and I started making dinner together. Now, that’s pretty much my sole job when we cook—he does things like bread chicken cutlets, bake herb-crusted salmon, and sautee yummy carrots in butter sauce. I do things like chop vegetables and now… snap asaparagus. Yipee! I get the fun jobs. So if you don’t know here’s the way to do it:

Take the end of the asparagus between your thumb and forefinger and bend until it breaks. The asparagus automatically breaks just where the woody part ends and the fresh, juicy part begins. It breaks this way, we assume, because the end has much less moisture and therefore less flexibility.

All images: Faith Hopper

h1

Get Thee to a Starbucks

April 8, 2008

Starbucks

Free coffee today at 7,000 Starbucks stores to celebrate their introduction of the new Pike Place blend, named after the place where the first store was located. Also, if you’re near Bryant Park, there’s apparently a faux-Starbucks store set up where you can grab free bags of the new beans.

Photo via.